The iconic Hermès store has been restored expanding to several floors at 42, avenue George V
The new Hermès boutique in Paris is now on three levels, with a retail area of 555 sqm. The façade and the wood-panelled shop-front have been entirely renovated by architecture studio RDAI, and the golden letters of the sign for milliner Ernest Motch, who was based there in 1870, are resplendent again.
The main entrance, previously on Henri-Dunant square, has been moved to avenue George V, and there is a separate entrance for the store’s millinery section.
Hermès’s range of luxury products – silk, perfume and leather – is clustered around a central staircase, and the floors of the store’s various sections are covered in grey-blue marble and mosaic tiles, inspired by those of the Faubourg-Saint-Honoré store. The spiral staircase up to the first floor like a ribbon, makes circulation inside the store quicker and smoother, thanks to its two-flight structure, each serving one wing of the building.
The first floor, designed is the style of a boulevard Haussmann apartment, is home to an enfilade of rooms which allow visitors to have a comprehensive overview of the range of Hermès creations, from fashion to watch-making and jewelry. Each room has a uniquely precious décor, with ornamented fireplaces, tall mirrors and herringbone parquet floors.
The palette is blueish grey in the menswear area, pearly pink in womenswear, with trimmings in sensual hues created by artist Pierre Bonnefille, a long-standing collaborator of Hermès, and with peacock blue and carmine red carpets on the floors.
The main novelty in this newly renovated Hermès flagship store is the introduction of a bespoke menswear section on the second floor. The décor is original, a blend of palm-leaf motifs and baroque mouldings, with a small, hushed lounge acting as fitting room.